I am totally in love with the concept of The Penguin Harlequinade. The whole ‘system’ (inasmuch as you can call it a system) just fascinates me, and I’d love to play/GM it. On the other hand, I can’t for the life of me think of a group who would be willing to do something quite this free-form or acting-school-esque with me.

For those of you unsure of whether you want to take a look, the completely free ‘rulebook’ is quite short. The game itself involves simply acting out a scene (usually with some bizarre goal) while using chips to accomplish tasks that one wants to accomplish. In order to get chips, though, each player must either say a random quote from his or her character sheet–somehow making it make sense in the context of the scene that’s occurring–or take an scene item from the Mayhem Pot, which includes directions like “Take violent offense at the next thing said. Challenge the speaker to a duel. Do not back down.” I want to see this. I want to do this. I want to see someone do this!

Of course, part of me (inevitably) somehow wants to adapt this system to the Warhammer world. While I love the fantasy world above all other RPG worlds, I somehow think this would be even funnier as a Space Marine (Opera.) Hmm…

At any rate, has anybody played this? How did you get a group together? Have you done any other radically open-ended RPGs? How did you prep your group to do them?

