Between my illness and the work-related demands of this time of year, I find myself stuck with a gigantic stack of paper to review this weekend. In great detail. So I’m a bit too swamped to blog much at the moment.

Nevertheless, I have two quick things:

1) The FFG store tells me that my Black Crusade Collector’s Edition shipped yesterday! Hooray! I’ll post pics as soon as I get it. (I have plans for that fluff; I certainly do. I have almost no plans for the ruleset itself, which I plan on dumping ASAP.)

2) I assume most of you are aware of the sheer awesomeness of Radio Rivendell, but just in case you aren’t, there it is. I tend to listen to it while I’m working–it’s going to get a lot of listen from me this weekend, in fact. But I also tend to keep a paper and pen handy so I can jot down musical titles that I think will be useful for my games. Among other songs, the station plays quite a bit of soundtrack music from TV shows, movies, and video games, so it’s a good way to get your hands on tracks that might work for you without having to sift through a list of iTunes previews which might not give the flavor of the whole track. The station also hosts some surprising music that’s off the beaten path, so you’ll hear all sorts of interesting pieces you won’t find on iTunes/Amazon or at your local store, but you can often order those albums directly from their creators. I tend to listen on my iPad with Tunemark because the app allows you to save a list of the music you want to remember, although I’m sure many other apps do the same. Listening to Rivendell gives me the chance to stop and prep for my game while doing respectable, rent-paying work! Score!

At any rate, I hope to see you midweek when my BCCE arrives. Until then, have a good weekend! I’ll be trying to shove aside thoughts of my Skaven game so that I can get some “real” work done. (And incidentally, if you have other thoughts about how to sneak in RPG prep during work time, I’d love to hear them.)

