I downloaded iGM to check out the content delivery format more than I did to check out the actual product; I’m not particularly wild about d20 systems other than Pathfinder, and while any adventure might be adapted to the WFRP3e ruleset, most generic adventures are a bit too “I’m a hero! Watch me kill monsters with magic and look cool!” to be Warhammery. (Not enough rain. Not enough misery. Not enough chaos. Not enough Waltrout.) So I won’t have much to say about the quality of this adventure except for the fact that, on a cursory glance, it looks like it would be as fun as anything else that’s not Warhammer.

The iGM product line aims to deliver adventures that a GM could run at the spur of the moment with little to no preparation. To that end, the story is divided up into an overview describing the whole adventure, a detailed but manageable chunk of background including faction information, and scenes including relevant stats and special rules. You can access the scenes from a master scene list, where each scene gets a brief paragraph of description and a hyperlink to the expanded information.

Expanded scenes include bullet-pointed synopses, narration for the GM to read, hints about how to play major NPCs, description of key items the PCs will see, NPC stats, and special rules, such as stat checks for seasickness. The description promises that “content is organized based on the flow of action,” and they seem to have delivered on that promise; the organization would allow a GM to run a scene as he read it.

What I like best about this app, though, is the map of the town. You can zoom in on individual buildings and click on them to get detailed information, including visual descriptions, key NPCs, and historical info. Supposedly future versions will have the ability to share these maps wirelessly with your players, which is an excellent idea; I love the idea of having several copies of the map all around the table without having to photocopy or print.

There are few reasons I’d run a game without reading it carefully first. Yet if I had to, I’m convinced I could do it if it were handed to me in this format–even within a d20 system, which I don’t much love, and that’s saying something!

I very much wish FFG would pick up a content delivery system like this one; I could see great potential for delivering premium electronic versions of their scenarios in this format. I also see a bigger company like FFG expanding the offerings of an app like this. What if each scene came with images of key places you could share wirelessly? With background sounds and music the GM could share? With details about miniatures or standups to use and how to set them up?

Incidentally, the company that makes this app is looking for publishers interested in getting their modules distributed via the app. Check out this web page for more info.

One last thing: while the developers are still working on the final build, iGM is free, so take a look at it for the platform even if the adventure itself doesn’t particularly interest you.

