Every once in awhile, someone will suggest I run WFRP at a convention. If that someone is one of my players, we then share a hearty laugh. You see, the problem with buying all this stuff to help you GM is that you have to justify all this stuff you’ve bought by using it. My GMing station generally takes up one whole side of our gaming table. Here’s what it looks like:

What’s sad is that these pictures were taken from a scaled-down game in which we weren’t using all of Fantasy Flight’s components.

Some comments:
1 ) I like to have out the miniatures I need, plus three or four that I choose randomly that I can throw in at the last minute.
2 ) I finally got a Paizo Combat Pad! It’s as good as everyone says.
3 ) Extra markers are imperative, not because they tend to run out of ink, but because I tend to drop them under the table when I get excited during battles, and I don’t want to retrieve them mid-game.
4 ) I need two GM screens because I cheat twice as much as a normal GM.
5 ) I never consult these during game; I’m not even sure why I bother to get them out. Our group tends to roll with whatever and check the rule before the next game. We do this in boardgaming, too, which ends up making for some interesting play sessions. Still, I feel like I should pretend that I care about the rules, so I get the rulebooks out.
6 ) Plenty of counters and cards thanks to Fantasy Flight! I daresay that if FFG put out a version of tic-tac-toe, it would include a deck of 134 cards, sixty-seven tracking tokens, three playing boards, and a limited-edition whiffleball.
7 ) I usually don’t have these out, actually, so you can ignore them.
8 ) My players all have their own sets of these, and I have about five sets of them. There’s never a shortage of dice at the table.
9 ) My speakers. We usually spend about five minutes per session discussing the sound effects when someone says, “Wait. Are those sound effects? Or is that happening outside?” Then we proceed to talk about where I got the sound effects, whether there’s a sound effect with thing X in it, and how weird it is that sound effect X exists on iTunes.
10 ) My precious. If I’m going to look up a rule, it tends to be on the iPad. Mostly, though, I use it to manipulate sound effects and music and/or to show images to the players.
11 ) This is my book of non-official scenarios, my own work, and our overarching campaign story. It takes up a lot of room. I tend to forget to consult it and end up making up stuff on the fly that I actually thought about ahead of time.

I just also realized that my monster cards weren’t out yet before I took this picture. So there are those, too.

Some of the more perceptive among you will quickly point out that nobody needs this stuff to GM and that I could just use the streamlined system in the books at a convention and not worry about all the other junk. I appreciate the advice of those good, kind, sane people. I just can’t quite hear them over the sound of my shuffling the stuff around on my table.

I might run Burning Wheel at a con sometime, though. Oh! Or the awesome Fortune’s Fool!  I’ll just need to pick up a few props and whatnots first…

