I’m finishing up the scenery for this weekend’s game. Actually, the scenery for this weekend’s game was finished a couple of weeks ago, but we didn’t end up playing, and the extra time gave me some time to add final touches like animal pens. Unfortunately, I don’t own any paper model animal pens, so I had to put them together from pieces of other existing furniture. Here was my morning internal monologue:

Me: I dunno if I should spend time on this, since it’s not crucial to the story, and the PCs don’t really need it. On the other hand, they always interact with barnyard animals when given the chance. And there are actually quite a few scenarios with barnyard animals in them, so I’ll use the pens again.

I’m going to go back and highlight the problematic points of that internal monologue just in case you missed them:

Me: I dunno if I should spend time on this, since it’s not crucial to the story, and the PCs don’t really need it. On the other hand, they always interact with barnyard animals when given the chance. And there are actually quite a few scenarios with barnyard animals in them, so I’ll use the pens again.

I’m not really sure where my GMing went wrong, but that’s where we are.

Anyway, it turns out that putting passable animal pens together from printouts of paper model logs isn’t that difficult. (I knew it was worth buying that whole set of paper model logs! I just knew it!) I threw some animals in to make sure the pens were about the right size:

That glue on the table was totally not my fault.

While I was finishing up, my mother texted me and asked what I was doing, so I explained and I sent her a picture. Her reply? “Having the sheep with the bull might get you a shull or a beep.”

Now I’m thinking about how to stat a Chaos Shull or a Beep of Slaanesh for a future scenario.

